The Legislature of Gibraltar consists of the Governor and the Gibraltar Parliament. The Parliament consists of the speaker, and 17 democratically elected members.

The power of the Gibraltar legislature to make laws is exercisable by bills passed by the Parliament and assented to by the Governor on behalf of Her Majesty.

Whilst the executive authority vests in the Governor it is the Chief Minister and usually 9 Ministers which constitute the Government of Gibraltar with the remaining 7 elected members constituting the official opposition.

The GSLP/Liberal alliance today hold the Government benches under the leadership of Chief Minister Fabian Picardo - the Gibraltar Social Democrats, led by Elliott Phillips, currently occupy six of the Opposition seats whilst Marlene Hassan Nahon, of Together Gibraltar, holds the seventh Opposition seat.